Main Content

Leadership and Governance

Portrait of Stanford President Richard Saller

President Richard Saller

Richard Saller, a scholar of Roman history who has previously served in several academic leadership roles, became Stanford University’s 12th president on Sept. 1, 2023.

Provost Jenny Martinez

Provost Jenny Martinez

Jenny Martinez, a leading expert on international law and constitutional law, became Stanford’s 14th provost, the chief academic and budgetary officer of the university, on Oct. 1, 2023.

Faculty Senate

Faculty Senate

The Faculty Senate is the legislative body of the Academic Council and has responsibility for academic and research policy as well as the authority to grant degrees.

Stanford University

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees, chaired by Jerry Yang, MS ’90, PhD ’90, is custodian of the endowment and all the properties of Stanford University.

Administrative Offices

Stanford’s administrative offices are essential to supporting the operations and mission of the university. They deal with a diverse range of issues including human resources, financial activities, research administration and student affairs.