Hawai'i Ecosystems Project Scientists and Collaborators


Project leaders:

Peter M. Vitousek (Stanford University Department of Biology)

Pamela A. Matson (Stanford / Environmental Earth System Science)

John J. Ewel (USDA Forest Service, Pacific Southwest Research Station, Institute of Pacific Islands Forestry)

Oliver Chadwick (UC Santa Barbara, Geography)



PERSON E-MAIL ADDRESS PRESENT OR FORMER AFFILIATION
Ali Ainsworth alison_ainsworth@nps.gov Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Steve Allison allisons@uci.edu UC Irvine
Ron Amundson earthy@nature.berkeley.edu U California-Berkeley/Environmental Science
Rob Anderson robertan@hawaii.edu U Hawaii-Manoa/Pacific Cooperative Studies Unit
Greg Aplet greg_aplet@tws.org The Wilderness Society
Greg Asner greg@globalecology.stanford.edu Carnegie Institute at Stanford
Carter Atkinson carter_atkinson@usgs.gov USGS-Biological Resources Division (Kilauea)
Amy Austin austin@ifeva.edu.ar Universidad de Buenos Aires/Agricultural Plant Physiology and Ecology Research Institute (IFEVA)
Teri Balser teribalser@yahoo.com Stanford/U California-Berkeley
Paul Banko paul_banko@usgs.gov USGS- Biological Resources Division (Kilauea)
Richard Bardgett r.bardgett@lancaster.ac.uk U Lancaster/Biological Sciences
Jane Reppun Beachy  jbeachy@fas.harvard.edu Harvard
Claudia Benitez-Nelson cbnelson@soest.hawaii.edu U Hawaii-Manoa/Oceanography
Dan Binkley dan@cnr.colostate.edu  Colorado State/Forest Sciences
Byron Blomquist byronb@soest.hawaii.edu U Hawaii-Manoa/Oceanography (Huebert Lab)
Siegmar Breckle sbreckle@biologie.uni-bielefeld.de Bielefeld University(Germany)/Ecology
Marie Bruegmann marie_bruegmann@r1.fws.gov USFWS/Pacific Islands Ecosystem Conservation
Bob Cabin rcabin@fs.fed.us USDA Forest Service (Hilo)
Joan Canfield joan_canfield@usgs.gov USGS-Biological Resources Division (Pacific Islands)
Ron Cannarella ronald_j_cannarella@exec.state.hi.us State of Hawaii Department of Land and Natural Resources/Forestry and Wildlife (Honolulu)
Jamie Carter hencarter@hotmail.com Hawaii Stream Research Center (Kaua`i)
Oliver Chadwick oac@geog.ucsb.edu U California-Santa Barbara/Geography
Jon Chorover jdc7@psu.edu Penn State/Environmental Soil Chemistry
Michelle Clark clark@hilobay.comm
clark@hilihue.usda.gov
USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (Kaua`i)
Michael Clearwater clearwat@hawaii.edu U Hawaii and Hawaii Agricultural Research Center
Tom Coffman coflee@hgea.org Filmmaker
Heather Cole hcole@tnc.org The Nature Conservancy of Hawaii
Andrea Cook acook@llnl.gov Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
Susan Cordell cordell01@fs.fed.us USDA Forest Service (Hilo)
Coleen Cory ccory@tnc.org The Nature Conservancy of Hawaii
Tim Crews tcrews@prescott.edu Prescott College
Amanda Cundiff ajane@uclink4.berkeley.edu U California-Berkeley
Carla D'Antonio dantonio@socrates.berkeley.edu U California-Berkeley/Integrative Biology
Todd Dawson tdawson@socrates.berkeley.edu U California-Berkeley/Integrative Biology
Julie Denslow julie.denslow@gte.net USDA Forest Service (Hilo)
Lou Derry lad9@cornell.edu Cornell/Geology
Saara DeWalt sdewalt@unix1.sncc.lsu.edu Louisiana State/Biology (Denslow)
David Duffy dduffy@hawaii.edu U Hawaii-Manoa/Pacific CooperativeStudies Unit
Leilani Durand leilani_durand@hotmail.com The Nature Conservancy of Hawaii
Marsha Erickson kokee1@aloha.net Hui O Laka/Koke`e Museum (Kaua`i)
Kathy Ewel kewel@gte.net USDA Forest Service (Honolulu)
Jack Ewel jackewel@gte.net USDA Forest Service (Honolulu)
Heraldo Farrington heraldof@stanford.edu Stanford/Biology (Magma Lab)
David Foote dave_foote@usgs.gov USGS-Biological Resources Division (Kilauea)
Jim Fownes jfownes@forwild.umass.edu U Mass and U Hawaii/Forestry
JB Friday jbfriday@hawaii.edu U Hawaii/Forestry Extension
Jennifer Funk  jlfunk@chapman.edu Chapman University
Bob Gavenda bob.gavenda@pb.usda.gov USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service (Guam)
Tom Giambelluca thomas@hawaii.edu U Hawaii-Manoa/Geography
Christian Giardina giardina@hawaii.edu U Hawaii/Natural Resources
Tom Givnish givnish@facstaff.wisc.edu U Wisconsin/Botany
Guillermo Goldstein gold@hawaii.edu U Hawaii-Manoa/Botany
Sam Gon sgon@tnc.org The Nature Conservancy of Hawaii
Donovan Goo dgoo@fs.fed.us USDA Forest Service (Hilo)
Steven Greco segreco@ucdavis.edu UC Davis/Environmental Design
Dan Gruner dgruner@hawaii.edu UH Manoa/Zoology (Taylor)
Stephan Haettenschwiler stephan.haettenschwiler@unibas.ch University of Basel
Sharon Hall shall@coloradocollege.edu U Colorado/Geological Sciences
Robin Harrington rharring@forwild.umass.edu U Massachusetts/Forestry
Jackie Heath jheath@soest.hawaii.edu U Hawaii-Manoa/Oceanography (Huebert)
Liam Heneghan lhenegha@wppost.depaul.edu DePaul University
Megan Herz mmh28@cornell.edu Cornell
Stephen Hight hight@netally.com USDA Agricultural Research Service (Tallahassee, FL)
Sara Hobbie shobbie@tc.umn.edu U Minnesota/Ecology
Dan Hoover dhoover@soest.hawaii.edu U Hawaii/Oceanography (McKenzie)
Ivan Horiuchi ihoriuchi@fs.fed.us USDA Forest Service (Volcano)
Sara Hotchkiss sara@geology.wisc.edu University of Wisconsin/Botany
Darcy Hu darcy_hu@nps.gov Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Barry Huebert huebert@okika.soest.hawaii.edu U Hawaii/Oceanography
Kalan Ickes btkalan@unix1.sncc.lsu.edu Louisiana State/Biology (Williamson)
Jim Jacobi jim_jacobi@usgs.gov USGS-Biological Resources Division (Kilauea)
Jack Jeffrey jjgg@aloha.net USFWS (Hakalau Refuge)
Jim Juvik jjuvik@hawaii.edu U Hawaii-Hilo/Geography
Ken Kaneshiro kykanesh@hawaii.edu U Hawaii/Center for Conservation Research and Training
Eric Karlin ekarlin@orion.ramapo.edu Ramapo College
Eugene Kelly pedoiso@lamar.colostate.edu Colorado State/Soil and Crop Sciences
Martin Kennedy mkennedy@ess.ucla.edu U California-LA/Earth and SpaceSciences
Gary King gking@maine.edu U Maine
Brian Kiyabu bkiyabu@yahoo.com USDA Forest Service (Volcano)
Richard Ku rku@usc.edu U Southern California/Earth Sciences (Geochemistry)
Andy Kurtz kurtz@geology.cornell.edu Cornell/Geology (Derry)
Lori Lach ljl13@cornell.edu Cornell/Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Malia Lee malia72@excite.com USDA Forest Service/UH Hilo
Linda Lenz lenz@hawaii.edu U Hawaii/Botany (Goldstein)
Manuel Lerdau mlerdau@life.bio.sunysb.edu State U New York-Stonybrook
Rhonda Loh rhonda_loh@nps.gov Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Lloyd Loope lloyd_loope@usgs.gov USGS-Biological Resources Division (Haleakala)
Erin Lutrick lutrick@geology.ucsb.edu U California-Santa Barbara/Geological Sciences
Michelle Mack micmac@socrates.berkeley.edu U Alaska
Pam Matson matson@stanford.edu Stanford/Geological and Environmental Sciences
Dennis Matsuyama matsuyam@hawaii.edu U Hawaii/Natural Resources (Beaumont Station)
Fred McKenzie fredm@iniki.soest.hawaii.edu U Hawaii-Manoa/Oceanography
Aaron Miller miller@geog.ucsb.edu U California-Santa Barbara/Geography (Chadwick)
Stephen Miller stephen_e_miller@fws.gov USFWS/Pacific Islands Ecosystem Conservation
Susan Miyasaka miyasaka@hawaii.edu U Hawaii-Hilo/Tropical Plant and Soil Science
Rebecca Montgomery rebeccam@interpac.net U Wisconsin/Botany (Givnish)
Dieter Mueller-Dombois amdhawaii@aol.com U Hawaii-Manoa/Botany (Emeritus)
Roddy Nagata rnagata@fs.fed.us USDA Forest Service (Hilo)
Karla Naumoff knaumoff@nature.berkeley.edu U California-Berkeley/Environmental Science (Benning)
Jason Neff jasonn@nrel.colostate.edu Colorado State/Natural Resource Ecology Lab
Duane Nelson divebum@aloha.net USDA Forest Service (Hilo)
Becky Ostertag ostertag@hawaii.edu University of Hawaii at Hilo
Bill Parton billp@nrel.colostate.edu Colorado State/Natural Resource Ecology Lab
Holly Pearson hlp209@hotmail.com Environmental Defense Fund
Dave Penn dpenn@eha.health.state.hi.us State of Hawaii Dept. of Health, Environmental Planning Office
Steve Perakis sperakis@usgs.gov Oregon State University
Dave Perry perry@fsl.orst.edu Corvallis Forestry Sciences Laboratory
Linda Pratt linda_w_pratt@usgs.gov USGS-Biological Resources Division (Kilauea)
Thane Pratt thane_pratt@usgs.gov USGS-Biological Resources Division (Kilauea)
Jon Price jpprice@ucdavis.edu U California-Davis/Geography
Cathy Pringle pringle@sparrow.ecology.uga.edu U Georgia/Institute of Ecology
Jim Raich jraich@iastate.edu Iowa State/Botany
Carla Restrepo carlae@sevilleta.unm.edu U New Mexico/Biology
Ralph Riley rhriley@openacess.org US Environmental Protection Agency (Corvallis, OR)
Rob Robichaux robichau@u.arizona.edu U Arizona/Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
David Rothstein rothste2@msu.edu Michigan State/Forestry
Ann Russell arussell@iastate.edu Iowa State/Botany
Darren Sandquist dsandquist@fullerton.edu Cal State Fullerton/Plant Ecology
Buck Sanford rsanford@du.edu Denver University/Biological Sciences
Wendell Sato wsato@fs.fed.us USDA Forest Service (Hilo)
Karin Schlappa karin_schlappa@usgs.gov USGS- Biological Resources Division (Kilauea)
Paul Scowcroft pscowcroft@fs.fed.us USDA Forest Service (Honolulu)
Ted Schuur tschuur@uci.edu U California-Irvine/Earth System Science
Randy Senock senock@hawaii.edu U Hawaii-Hilo/Forestry
Whendee Silver wsilver@nature.berkeley.edu U California-Berkeley/Environmental Science
Peter Simmons pesimmon@ksbe.edu Kamehameha Schools
Monica Soria monica_pahoehoe@hotmail.com Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Kalani Spain bertramspain@hotmail.com U Hawaii-Hilo/USDA Forest Service
William Steiner steiner@hawaii.edu USGS-Biological Resources Division (Pacific Islands)
Ross Sutherland sutherla@hawaii.edu U Hawaii-Manoa/Geography
Don Swanson donswan@usgs.gov Hawaiian Volcano Observatory
Alan Teramura teramura@hawaii.edu U Hawaii-Manoa/Botany
Margaret Torn mstorn@lbl.gov Ernst Orlando Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory/Earth Sciences
Alan Townsend townsena@stripe.colorado.edu U Colorado/EnvironmentalBiology
Kathleen Treseder treseder@uci.edu U C Irvine
Tim Tunison tim_tunison@nps.gov Hawaii Volcanoes National Park
Doug Turner dturner@stanford.edu Stanford/Biology (Vitousek Lab Staff)
Alan Urakami aurakami@fs.fed.us USDA Forest Service (Hilo)
Julia Verville verville@biology.utah.edu U Utah/Biology
Peter Vitousek vitousek@stanford.edu Stanford/Biology/Environmental Earth System Sciences
Joe von Fischer jcv2@cornell.edu Cornell/Ecology and Evolutionary Biology (Hedin)
Mark Walbridge mwalbrid@osf1.gmu.edu George Mason University/Biology
David Wardle wardled@landcare.cri.nz Landcare Research (New Zealand)
Rick Warshauer rick_warshauer@usgs.gov USGS-Biological ResourcesDivision (Kilauea)
Julie Whitbeck whitbeck@mailhost.tcs.tulane.edu Tulane/Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Mindy Wilkinson mwilkins@hawaii.edu U Hawaii-Manoa/Botany (Daehler)
Lauren Wilson dendron@hilo.net U Hawaii-Hilo/Zoology
Bethany Woodworth bethany_woodworth@usgs.gov USGS-Biological Resources Division (Kilauea)
Karen Ziegler kziegler@geog.ucsb.edu U California-Santa Barbara/Geography
Sharon Ziegler ziegler@hawaii.edu U Hawaii-Hilo/Sea Grant

Contact Doug Turner to update information
Modified:    06/01/2008

Back to Hawai'i Ecosystems Project home page